top of page

Featured Boss: Zanetta C.


 

Zanetta: I would first like to say thank you for this opportunity and for considering me as a good enough candidate for your “Woman Boss Wednesday”

What inspires you to keep going?

Many things inspire me to keep going each and everyday but, I would say the most important thing is my mother. My mother raised me alone without any help from others and always made sure I had exactly what I needed and even wanted. I see her day in and day out go to work and strive extremely hard to do her absolute best so she can provide for us. I want to create a life for her that eliminates all struggles and obstacles. She believes in everything I do, even when I come up with the most obscure ideas. She never doubts that I will one day make it, so just the thought of her keeps me going; I just know how hard she works and doesn’t complain when the going gets tough.

 

What was your first makeup job, how did your feel?

Hmm, my first REAL makeup job as an established artist was on set of a photoshoot for a local Miami model. She booked me to do her makeup for a company that wanted to do a black history piece and honestly I was super nervous. I had been doing makeup previously but, in partnership with a friend so I was always use to her being in the room with me and it was always small jobs; But this was something big, all eyes were on me and I had to work super fast and diligent to finish the makeup. Oh! And not to mention I had never done photoshoot makeup before trust me, the process is very different but, I winged it and in the end her face was beat honey and most importantly the photographer and company were very satisfied.

 

What are five products you must have in your pro makeup kit? ● MAC cosmetics Fix + (cannot live without it) ● Foundation of course (I really love black opal beauty as of late) ● RCMA setting powder ● Alcone sponges ● Senna Black chocolate eyebrow pencils ( I can wing everything else but I absolutely need these to survive a job)

 

If you can only take one item to an island, what would it be?

A moisturizer . I can live without makeup but my skin has to be nourished, I’m really big into skin care by the way. I really enjoy Josie maran Argan Daily Moisturizer SPF 47 (it’s a moisturizer that has sun protection, you can’t beat that!)

 

Where do you see your business in the next five years?

Wow, in the next five years I see nothing but great things for my business. I like to speak things into existence but at the same time I like to keep things that are really important to me private because the devils of this world will pray your goals away so I won’t be too specific but I will say I see my business touching millions, in different cities and countries and helping reach the lives of others in the most positive way.

 

What is one of your proudest moments so far being a makeup artist?

One of the proudest moments so far has been given the opportunity to be published in a magazine. I alongside a great friend was published in Promo Magazine last year August and It was such an amazing experience. I have to thank Pierrah Hilaire (@pierrahh) for considering us to be her makeup artists for this shoot. It was my first publishment and working with a big team of people. It opened doors for me in the professional industry of makeup artistry and it’s just something i’ll never forget.

 

What advice would you give to an aspiring makeup artist?

My advice will be to stay original and fall completely in love with your craft. There are thousands of makeup artist across the world and you have to find a way to be different but true to yourself. You should always want to be a step above but never feel as though you have to compete with the next artist to stay on top because there are jobs everywhere. Being a step above means staying educated in your industry, investing in yourself, being on top of the latest trends and giving your clientele that luxury experience as if they’re Beyonce.

 

Who’s your fav makeup guru? My favorite makeup guru is Patrick Starr, I just love his personality and his dedication to the makeup industry. But I don’t follow the trends of makeup gurus or indulge too much in Youtube personalities, it’s just for entertainment but not professional gain. My favorite professional makeup artist has to be Renny Vasquez. This man is a BEAST and is dominating the makeup industry right now. His work ethic is impeccable and his artistry is to die for.

 

What celebrity face would you love to enhance?

Beyonce Giselle Knowles

 

Social Media: ● Instagram: @_ZanettaC ● Twitter: @ZanettaC ● Youtube: Zanetta C. ● Pinterest: Zanetta C Website: http://www.ZanettaC.com (You can go on my website to Book, check out my latest fashion favorites, stay up to date on makeup trends and also skin care tips!)
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page