top of page

Crystal McDuffy: Consult Crystal

Thank you for allowing Woman Boss Wednesday to feature you! Before we begin, can you the reader(s) a little more about yourself?

I’m Crystal. I’m a 20 year-old junior at the University of Florida studying marketing in the school of business. Besides that, I really am into music, books, beauty, and fashion (when I have the time and money). Fun fact: I have been a vegetarian for a week and am really liking it so far. I hope I can continue on this new, healthier lifestyle.

What is a mantra you live by?

Hm, that’s a hard question. I have a lot of mantras, but the most important one would probably be to “trust the process.” Basically, everything can’t always be about results and you will always make mistakes but you have to trust that with time and determination, you will succeed.

You are a Miramar Alumni and you currently attending University of Florida, what is your major?

I will receive a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration with a major in Marketing.

How do you balance school life, business life, and personal life?

I’m still definitely getting used to it. A big thing I always try to do is wake up early even if I don’t have to. Once you get past the initial fogginess, you’d be amazed at how many hours are in the day. And after a while, it becomes a habit. Additionally, Google calendar is a big help. It’s also nice that my entire business can be run from my computer and phone, so I can work anywhere. Something that might seem counterintuitive that I’m trying to work on is monotasking, the opposite of multitasking. If I’m editing a resume, I’m editing a resume. If I’m studying, I’m studying. If I’m spending quality time with my girlfriend, I’m not answering e-mails. It allows me to focus on one task at a time and work more precisely as well as receive a sense of pride from crossing things off of my to-do list.

After you received your internship with Google, you received a lot of inquiries about resumes. Was it then you knew you wanted to revamp resumes or was this always something you were good at and wanted to do?

It’s a bit of both. I’d always received inquiries once I showed people my resume, but I wasn’t sure I would have the time to actually do them for people. During the fall semester, I decided I wanted to try out editing some of my friends’ resumes and see what they thought and they all really loved it, so I decided to get serious. Over winter break, I designed my website and I launched right after New Years’.

Besides revamping resumes, what other services does Consult Crystal offer?

We offer standard and creative resume revamps, interview preparations, LinkedIn Profile Builds and Optimizations, as well as small business branding consultations.

What’s your turnaround time?

On average, it’s about a week. There is an option to pay $10 extra for 2-3 processing if you need it faster.

How many revisions does someone get after the resume is completed?

It’s normally finished in just one edit, because I send out a questionnaire beforehand that asks the client specific questions about each positions so everything is clear. But if they do need something fixed, I will work on it until they are satisfied.

Can someone that never worked before ask for your services?

Yes, but they would have to have some sort of community or college involvement experience.

What are the top three things personally and as a business owner you will like to accomplish this year?

I’d really like to produce more professional content and grow my Instagram following. Eventually, I’d like to be seen as more of a thought leader than just an editor. It’s really time-consuming to think of ideas though so it’s all about balance. On a personal level, I’d like to focus on my health, hair, and happiness. I am transitioning my hair to natural and will probably be chopping it soon, so I’d like to focus on that growth as well as eating well and working out.

Instagram: ConsultCrystal

Website: consultcrystal.com


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page