top of page

Destiny Lawson owner of Ushindi22

Thank you for allowing Woman Boss Wednesday to feature you! Before we begin, can you tell the reader(s) a little about yourself?

Well, first my name is Destiny Brewton, Chief Creative Director for ushindi22. I am 23, originally from Atlanta, GA but currently in Jacksonville, FL. I am lover of all things afro-diaspora relate and great history nut. Recently got married and got my first house with my husband. If not working on ushindi22, I am either busy with my Alumni Chapter of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority Inc., or working on regular 9-5.

What made you take the leap into entrepreneurship?

Funny thing is I do not feel like I have taken that leap yet. I started ushindi22 first to satisfy some time as I just graduated from college and was working part-time. ushindi22 was originally just a head wrap company & we have grown to be very diverse in our accessory base. Since that growth, I have seen what it takes to be an entrepreneur & I am still working to take that final leap where I do not have to work a 9-5. Definitely starting ushindi22 has opened my eyes to every opportunity available.

Do your products meet a need?

I feel that ushindi22 products definitely meet a need, as we have everything in one place. From t-shirts, to head wraps, to mugs, to enamel pins and everything in between. Although there are companies who do what we do, what I have found is that what makes us different is that we do provide a marketplace feel and if we don’t have it, trust me its coming. We do not try to stay on top of trends, but rather provide creativity and nostalgia to our products.

What does ushindi means?

ushindi means “victorious” in Swahili. Its pronounce oo-shin-dee.

In three words, what does being black mean to you?

Only three words. Strength, Light & Creators.

Out of all the items you sale, if you could only sale one. What would that products be and why?

No offense to my other products, but it would definitely be my Malcom X enamel pin. That pin resonates so much with what Is going on right now. It features Malcom holding is assault rifle while looking on the window with the quote “By Any Means Necessary” at the top & as we battle the ongoing racial tension in our country, we must be ready to protect ourselves by any means.

on Facebook, IG and Twitter @ushindi22 Website: www.ushindi22.com


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page