top of page

Mykya Brown - founder of Merahkii


Thank you for allowing Woman Boss Wednesday to feature you. Before we begin, can you tell the reader(s) a little about yourself?

Heyyyyyy! My name is Mykya and I’m OBESSED with Fashion! Lol, just kidding. But I was born and raised in Miami, Florida.  I am a 23 year old educated black girl! I received my bachelor degree in accounting from the school by the sea, Savannah State University. I like to call myself the jack of all trades because I can do anything with my creative mind. My three best qualities are creativity, determination, & passion.

 

What is the meaning behind your brand Merahkii?

The meaning behind Merahkii is leaving a piece of yourself in your work. When you love doing something or anything put something of yourself into it.

At what age did you know you wanted to become a stylist?

Since the age of 12 I always loved fashion. Being a plus size girl, I struggled finding trendy pieces in my size. So I took a chance at creating and styling my own pieces. Receiving great compliments from other women and men. I knew that moment just has I feel confident in what I’m wearing I want to create and style for others.

 

What will you wear? Outfit Inspo…

Mall Run:

Girls Night Out:

Date Night:

 

Congratulations on graduating from Savannah State University! Besides working on your brand Merahkii, you have a degree in accounting. Anything exciting happened since you graduated? After graduating, I started interning for the City of North Miami. Putting my best foot forward and working hard. I worked my way into becoming a junior accountant and I love it!

 

Your saddity bags were a big hit. What was the inspiration behind Saddity Bags?

Well everyone knows Migos famous song Bad and Boujee ft Lil Uzi Vert.

The day I heard the chorus the word Boujee caught my attention. I took a second and laughed because we all know “boujee” term represents the high class women with their noses in the air. The same day I was working on new ideas for fur hand bags. I wanted to go a different route and create something fun and new. I want to create something full of colors, fur, but also a hand bag and beauty queen can wear and still look graceful. (LOL, I know my ideas are a little crazy)

The word boujee popped in my head again, I told myself “Naw that’s not going to work”. I looked through the dictionary to find a word that meshes together glam & high confidence. Came across the word “sadity” which means high class and sophisticated, I wasn’t truly feeling the idea but I start to think more and more about it. If anyone knows me I’m so obsessed with the fashion from the 80’s and 90’s. It’s a daily thing that I watch “Martin”, Different World”, “Living Single”, and “Golden Girls”. One night watching Gold Girls I heard one character use the word saddity and I knew then I have to use saddity. That’s how the saddity handbag was born.

 

What can we except from Merahkii in 2018?

You can expect more fun with clothes and creative pieces! I’m currently working on swimwear for men and women, definitely more creative handbags, more style looks that all ages women and men can wear.

 

5 Fashion Tips

  1. Your body, your style! Pick clothing pieces that fits your style and body type.

  2. Don’t be afraid of colors & patterns! Fashion is art have fun with your clothes!

  3. Master the basics first! It’s not just a t-shirt and jeans, you have to know how to rock it! To change a basic t-shirt and jean, add a funky accessory piece or a colorful shoe.

  4. Push yourself with something new! Getting out of your comfort zone is a good way to challenge yourself with your clothing.

  5. Shop everywhere! (my personal tip lol) Listen you can find some of the coolest pieces in the thrift stores or even Walmart. I know it sounds crazy but don’t be afraid to shop high end and low end clothing stores.

Brown.mykya@gmail.com Social Media: Instagram: Merahkii_Styles Pinterest: MerahkiiStyles3 Facebook: Merahkii Styles Snapchat: Harmoniouskayb

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page