top of page

Featured Boss: Chef Christina Rosa


 

Why did you choose to become a chef?

I became a chef because it was in my blood. Both my grandmothers were wonderful cooks. I have a Jamaican grandmother and Hispanic abuela. So I’m well molded into good food. I grew up watching iron chef and I was obsessed. And now I’m obsessed with CHOPPED and BEAT Bobby flat. I grew up in a house where my nanas would feed everybody, like everybody the whole block lol. I love cooking it’s my passion and I realized you cannot escape YOUR PASSION and I’m glad I’m in full gear now.

 

What is your favorite food to eat? I love Mexican food I always joke that I should of been a Mexican because everything about there cultures food draws me in. They eat such good flavors with fresh fresh fresh vegetables, and spices. Guacamole is life!!!!

 

If Woman Boss Wednesday contacted you to cater an event, give me an example of a Summertime menu you would prepare?

Just to start off top of my head I’d do a Orange zest lemonade spritzer to start Appetizer Bib Lettuce Mango Crunch Salad Shrimp & Avocado Crostini Entree Sofrito Seasoned Salmon/Chicken Carribean Tortellini Pasta Salad Dessert Lemon Zucchini Bread

 

What do you do to stay educated about new trends in food industry?

I definitely do a lot of research everyday. I stay into touch with chefs I admire and I also watch great shows on what’s new and go to conventions, and food and wine festivals whenever I get a chance. When I travel I try to find the most authentic restaurants and get to know the culture through the food. Most important my family inspires me and I use them as my taste testers, and I love them for it.

 

Tell me about an accomplishment that you are most proud of in your career.

I’m most proud of starting my own platform to showcase my cooking and my dishes. For a long time I just cooked and made people I knew like friends and family extremely happy by cooking for them and throwing events. But I recently started showcasing every move and I have been super committed to it and I see a huge future for myself and I’m not stoping here.

 

3 dishes you consider to be your strength.

Ackee & Saltfish Caprese Tostone Chicken Meatballs

 

Social Media Instagram: @Chef.Rosa
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page