top of page

Featured Boss: Cierra J. / Melanin Bar


 

Thank you for allowing Woman Boss Wednesday to feature you! Before we begin, can you tell the reader(s) a little about yourself?

My Name is Cierra J. and I am an Ohio Native! I relocated to Atlanta with a mission to encourage young minority boss babes!

 

What is the inspiration behind Melanin Bar?

I grew up being teased about my complexion. I was always told I was pretty for a dark skinned girl or that girls that had lighter skin were better looking than me. It really sucked being constantly compared to other girls, or being looked at as one of the “few” pretty dark girls. I was so fed up with this!… I knew I had to make a change and stand up for all minority women. Complexion shaming is very common in other ethnic groups as well, not just the black community. So I decided to start a store where I would have positive apparel for all Brwn Girls! I wanted girls of every shade and ethnic background to come together encourage each other and turn their dreams into reality!

 

If you could give your younger self advice, what would you say?

I would say Stay focused CiCi ! Focus on your goals babygirl. lol No but really! I wish when I was younger I had the same passion as I do now to accomplish all my dreams and help other girls do the same.

 

Where do you see Melanin Bar in the future?

In the future I hope to see Melanin Bar become a huge movement..I mean HUGE ! I think it would be so beautiful to see are women of various ethnic backgrounds coming together instead of being in a competition, show love to each other, empower one another! I want to hold meet ups for young minority boss babes hopfully helping them to take business ideas to another level! Provide advice and feed back to girls who are trying to make their dreams come true.

 

How important do you think it is for us as women to know our self worth

? This is so Important! Women should know their worth and deem themselves as valuable. So often we may look to others or social media for validation. I hope that Melanin Bar can encourage self love and help women get to a point where they no longer need society’s acceptance to feel beautiful. It is my goal to help women see there is beauty in every one, regardless of skin complexion, ethnic background, and despite whatever flaws they may think they have. Women are beautiful! We are LIT and it is our differences that make us this way. Brwn Girl are Majestic!

 

To learn more about the collection, interviews, features, and all other inquires
send your email to:
melaninbar@gmail.com
You can purchase all items:
www.Themelaninbar.com
Social Media: Instagram: @melaninbar_ Twitter: @melaninbar_

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page